Upper Body Weights Workout

Superset:
Incline bench press
Chin ups
4 sets x 6-8 reps

Superset:
BB row
BB press
4 sets x 4-6 reps

DB close-grip bench press
DB lateral-to-frontal raises
Med ball pushups
Angled lateral raises
3 sets x 10-15 reps

3-5 rounds of 30 seconds on, 30 seconds off: Burpees

barbell_press

I organize my workouts into three segments: strength, metabolic resistance training, and a finisher. This helps me maximize the time I spend in the gym, and also helps raise my metabolism for the rest of the day. I typically workout in the mornings before work, and have a maximum of 35 minutes for my workout.

After a weights workout, metabolic rate is naturally increased through the excess post oxygen consumption (EPOC). This means, after a workout you are naturally breathing more deeply than normal. Thus, metabolic rate is increased until breathing comes back to normal. This takes 30-90 minutes.

When I design workouts, I start off by building around an area of the body (upper vs lower, front vs back). I focus on big movements (press, squat, and deadlift) for the strength portion because they use multiple muscle groups. I use heavy weights and low reps for this part. For the MRT portion, I group 4-6 exercises together in a circuit and perform 10-15 reps of each, with little to no rest between exercises. I rest 30 seconds between rounds and then start again. The last portion of my workout is the finisher, which is 3-10 minutes of high intensity interval training. I choose one movement (burpees, pushups, jump squats, sprints, stairs, etc) and perform it for 30-40 seconds of work, with 20-30 seconds of rest.

How do you build your workouts?

Leave a Reply

